The Tip Cauldron #1: They/Them, Fantasy Economics, & More!

Originally published at: http://wackywriters.com/tip-cauldron-1/

Welcome to the Tip Cauldron, a monthly writing column by Jane Barnaby and Maria Killjoy! In here, we take questions from the Wacky Writers forum and put them into our cauldron. We have sufficiently brewed them and poured a goblet full of tips. Be warned, they may or may not work as advertised…

Introduce yourselves. What is your writing process like?

Heya! I’m Jane and I’m mainly a Fantasy author. My writing process is a strange combination of following the rule of cool and holding up strict discipline as I write. Let me start with the beginning. Before I start a new project, I always have a handful of ideas running through my mind, with more appearing if I let my mind wander. If nothing comes up or seems to fit, I search for prompts (though that rarely works) or use my own prompts, which are story ideas I never got to write. After that? Well, the writing starts! What did you expect? Planning? I often barely know more than my MC’s name when I get started.

However, once I start, that duality comes up again. On one hand, I do whatever I feel works best for the story, or whatever the story feels is best for itself. When I write, the words simply flow. Sometimes like a slow stream, other times like a flash flood, but often somewhere in between. On the other hand, I also ensure to always hit my weekly word goals, and I track my word count on a spreadsheet. I try for daily goals, but since that sometimes fails, the weekly progress often make up for it. Being able to look back and see all the process I’ve made really helps motivate me.

I could go on and on about my writing process, but this will have to do for today.