Book Aesthetics and Music Playlists

So I’ve been writing this one fantasy book for a few years now and I’m finally coming to a point where I can finish writing the book. However I am struggling with the aesthetics and the overall dress code and style that I want to be in the story. I’ve been making mood boards and aesthetic Pinterest boards but I am still struggling with what I want.

I have continuously struggled making a music playlist that fits with my story and I’m starting to struggle the same way with this style and aesthetics for inside the story. I’m not struggling with how to write it or like that kind of style but like what it looks like inside the story. I know I want it to look like a fantasy with all the beautiful dresses and palaces and Royals but would like some modern-ish electronics like lights and modern plumbing.

But what really getting me is do I want it to be grungy like romantic vampire, beautiful and bright New World style, dark academia, or maybe something like dark fantasy. Though the story itself may get a little dark I don’t want it to look Game of Thrones, you know? I want something that says this is your typical kind of high fantasy story with a murder mystery plot line.

I’m not looking for anybody to do this for me but may be listening to some of your stories on how to figure it out would help. I’m just kind of stuck. I am willing to show people parts of my story to help them but there is not a lot of it written.

1 Like

Ah I see exactly what you mean. I have a regency romance but it’s sci-fi with genetically modified bears and robots servants.

How modern is the fashion?

Honestly this is my biggest struggle. I’ll post some on Pinterest ideas. But I don’t want all the girls to be wearing these big dresses like they were a ball but I want some too. Idk man.

Here’s my aesthetic board that I have kind of started.

2 Likes

Would they wear mindresses?