can I get some feedback on my book cover design?

Previous Question

I have some limited experience with graphic design, but it’s all self taught. I’m a better artist than I am a graphic designer. I did draw something for a book cover to my story though, and I want to use it. Problem is making the cover look more professional. I’m not good at the fancy book covers I see other people make, but I want to be. Below is the current book cover I have, as well as the drawing I made that I definitely want to be a part of it. As it is now, the cover is very simple, which isn’t necessarily bad, but I feel it needs more. How could I improve the cover to look more engaging to a reader?

Current book cover:

And the art I want to be included no matter what changes I make to it:
synthetic_blood-removebg-preview-removebg-preview

Ok, I have worked on it again and hopefully made some improvements. I had to go back and paint over the original drawing I did to make it a little crisper, less pixelated, and more high quality in general, as well as adding more contrast. Then I used Canva to look for better fonts to use. Still was difficult because there weren’t a whole lot of options in the realm of sci-fi as well as adding effects to the fonts. Still, I did what I could with what resources I had. I came up with two different designs. Which one is better? I’ll add a poll for easier answers, but any feedback would also be appreciated, so long as it is constructive.

Cover #1:

Cover #2:

Which cover is best?
  • Cover #1
  • Cover #2
  • Neither, keep trying to come up with something better

0 voters

2 Likes

I would raise the saturation and contrast a bit.

Something like this.

Maybe also make the author font a solid color so it stands out a bit more from the title.

1 Like