I'm a straight A student and I failed college. Here's why...

So yeah, I have been a straight A student my whole life. I started college last year and failed 3 classes in 1st semester and 2 in 2nd semester. I KNOW! :neutral_face:

I went to a counselor and she referred me to a psychiatrist. After a series of tests, I got my diagnosis, and it shocked the hell out of me because I had no idea I was so different than the rest of the world!
It also made a lot of sense to me and my family.

You wanna know what I got?
I was diagnosed with ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder).

Iā€™m sorry if some of the things I said offended anybody. I didnā€™t mean it.
Iā€™m still learning about what to say and not say about people on the autism spectrum :purple_heart:

The good news is that Iā€™m getting help this year! So hereā€™s to finishing college :clinking_glasses: :grin:

7 Likes

I was an A student until college too! Then I failed because my roommates dragged me to keg parties every night. And I hate beer. Argh. And I didnā€™t even like my roommates that much. I wasnā€™t allowed to switch dorms, though, so I dropped out for a few years to get my head together. Then I went back to a different college a few years later and graduated, so you can do it too, autism or not. Yesh, you can do it! ( Ė†ā—”Ė†)Ū¶ Ł©(Ė˜ā—”Ė˜ )

3 Likes

Thank youuuu :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:
And congrats on graduating!! :tada:

2 Likes

Ah it can be very disheartening to fail after doing so well. Make sure you get in touch with disability support/ student services at your college to make adjustments that you might need. Goodluck!

I donā€™t have autism. Uni for me has been up and down. I was achieving top results, but my mental health was at an all-time low in the first two years. But I got the support that I needed, and it has been an extremely rewarding experience overall. I work at my uni now, and am starting my postgrad later this year.

3 Likes