What advice would you give to someone who knows nothing about writing fiction but wants to give it a shot?

What things will you tell someone who really wants to write a fiction story, but doesn’t know how to do it? Are you good at giving advice or bad at it? What would you say if it was someone you knew?

My Turn:

I couldn’t be of help to that person. Even though I have been writing for years, I am still learning things and growing as a writer. So, they would be better reading some books on how to master writing fiction or just going for it and writing a short story. I am terrible when it comes to advice and things like that.

Bonus Question:

1. Is there a writing style from a published author/novelist that you like or has inspired you in any sort of way?
2 Likes

Plot holes DO in fact MATTER

6 Likes

Really, how so?

What if the person does not know what a plot hole even is?

1 Like

Anything that contradicts earlier rules of the story or basic human logic and is not explained is a plot hole. It ranges in severity, but in especially bad cases, it can ruin stories.

3 Likes

I see. Most people hate plot holes though.

But I feel like most things in a story can’t be explained because that is just how the creator wanted it to be.

Am I making sense?

1 Like

There’s a difference between a plot hole and a mystery box. Mystery boxes are usually intentional.

4 Likes

Ah, okay. My mistake.

1 Like

The best advice I could give such a person is listen to no advice. They’re at a stage in their writing journey that they just need to explore, regardless of how good /bad their craft is. Once they had gotten into the love for writing is when I’d give advice, and that would be from the huge amount of advice I’ve read and understood. We don’t want to scare them off before they’re in it, right?

2 Likes