What does your personal editing process look like these days?! If that makes sense at all!

I just wanna know because I will be editing my anthology today when I get the printed papers of the first draft. Still, the whole editing process is going to be a cruel mistress to me due to my crapstatic writing skills. Anyway, I was wondering if you could tell me a bit of how you edit your stories. People do it differently and I just wanna know how you did it.

I know, I know I should wait a bit till I am ready to write more, but my lord I am too amped and excited.
I am itching to edit/revise/rewrite this beast of a story.

This is my first time in the editing stage yet I am both excited and intimidated.
What are your thoughts?

2 Likes

I think the best first step is to read the whole thing as a reader. Don’t edit, just read. You can make notes on the side but don’t worry about spelling or pretty words at this stage. Your first read is to see the big picture. What story are you really telling because it might be different from what you thought you were writing.

After that, I’d recommend to write a synopsis of the story - plainly from memory. If you wrote a synopsis or outline before, don’t peek at those, let this be from scratch. You might discover very insightful information from that, things you didn’t notice before.

4 Likes

Ah, I see.

So read it with the intention of getting a feel for it instead of editing as I read?

Thanks a bunch!

By the way, do you have an editing process that you personally do or no?

My process constantly evolves but right now it’s:

1. First read through.
  2. Make notes on what might have to change, things I do and don’t like, any plot holes discovered or alternative paths I didn’t think of before.
  3. Write a synopsis/summary. This is essentially an outline but in prose - tell the big picture story (preferably under 1000 words but no one will penalize you for going over).
  4. Analyze the synopsis. Does it make sense? Repeat point 2.