Are there any hobbies that you wished you got back to after years of "letting go"?

Not because you outgrew it, but rather you pushed it to the side and haven’t gone back to It in years because life, other hobbies, and just stopped thinking about it.

My Turn:

Like I am going to be honest, I used to draw, had a sketch book and how to draw anime characters a LOONG time ago.

I believe that my drawing was just a part of my AuDHD making me act on impulse, then getting defeated and impatient when things wasn’t going right.

I would draw anime eyes, but actual characters, I soon gave up and stuck with writing.

I often do think about drawing for myself, but the way I see it in my head will take twenty years of my life to get to THAT PRO LEVEL, maybe longer. Regardless of me sticking to it and knowing that I am a true newbie, it will be a serious challenge to get there. A lot of internal screeching and tears of frustration.

I might return to drawing some day sooner, just to have fun and not take too seriously, but serious enough to see myself grow as an artist.

So, thoughts and feelings?

3 Likes

One day I would like to get back to…watercolor painting, piano, and hula. But especially piano. One day, I want to play Moonlight Sonata and Reverie.

It will be…or you look at those challenges as fun experiments. I never thought I could learn to draw digitally. I always liked to draw, but I never thought I could use something like Procreate.

Today, that’s what I use quite comfortably.

The extent of my skills in 2019 using some cheap drawing app.

The redraw in 2023 using Procreate.

It took a long time to become comfortable…and I’m still learning. I also only draw for fun. It’s never a chore. I never say, “okay, I am going to practice drawing today”. I only do it when I feel like it. Sometimes I don’t even practice. I just draw whatever I feel like and see where my imagination takes me.

Yes, this :grin:

2 Likes