How many of your characters qualify to be an expected YA protagonsit

Source here:

Madelina’s story, though the most YA, doesn’t fit, as she has two male(non-human, and probably non-ethnic) friends who interact with her a bunch and the closet thing she has to a love interest is an obessive stalker of the same sex. Also she is too broad, tall, and stocky to be called petite.

2 Likes

I decided to attempt the questionaire (first link) for my YA characters…

Krista Gallant (14)
  1. Female: Yep.
  2. Not Like Other Girls: Krista is fluent in several languages, a millionaire, a Germanic Baroness (born in Israel), self-taught violinist, modest martial arts skills and surgical with a .22 pistol (raised among mercenaries), and over-educated (only attends school as a formality). P.S. ‘Normal’ people are an endangered species in Israel.
  3. Strong Spirited: Krista bosses around veteran mercenaries who could crush her by accident, enjoys tormenting / teasing a former Australian Commando (Dov), and she will verbally flay anyone who rebukes the IDF. Krista also has little fear of death because she’s surrounded by it, and death might reunite Krista with her brother.
  4. Unloving Parents: The extreme opposite.
  5. Independent: Yep. Krista is an adult in miniature, and treated as such by her adult peers. Israel’s culture doesn’t leave much room for childhoods anyway…kids are forced to grow up fast…
  6. No Man Required: Um, wrong.
  7. Fear Me!: Well, men fear Krista’s scathing wit and unnerving sexualised humour more than her token strength. Dov’s probably had steak dinners that weight more than Krista.
  8. Smarter Than Thou: More intelligent, perhaps. Wiser, no.
  9. The Guys are Hot: Continuous Special Forces level PT, and combat, kept the male (mercenary) characters in shape. As for Dov, he’s naturally strong and robust, a great fit for the Commandos, and the female characters often complement his looks…Allowing a guy like Dov to leave was a greave mistake by the ADF…