How to do the First Draft? (and other questions)

Hello people, Angel here.

Currently finished the outline of my novelette and am wondering if you could kindly help me with the actually drafting part. For context, I’m habitually more a poet and haven’t even finished anything beyond a story of 2k words. This novelette (Enigma) that i’ve outlined is dual POV, planned to be at around 20k words. idk if it will be that long, but that’s the plan.

point is, i’ve never written prose that hefty before. so do you guys have any tips on how to write the actual chapters if the book without getting stuck? how to pace yourself? how to let go of perfectionism? how to make a skeleton of the chapter? any ideas?

also have the issue that i’m quite the pantser when it comes to first drafts, but can’t live without an outline. how can I reconcile this fact?

3 Likes

It depends, but most of the time I am jumping right into the story without much planning.

I tend to go with the flow.

2 Likes

so do you mean you don’t outline? or that you don’t do a skeleton of the chapter beforehand?

1 Like

Nah, I don’t. When I do, I just don’t follow it like I am meant too.
So, I just go with the flow and work my way through there.

1 Like

got it.

1 Like

Following a routine is really hard for me, mentally.
:sweat_smile:

1 Like

honestly, same.

all those writers who say to follow a strict schedule and discipline yourself to write better? their advice has long gone out the window. I tend to write when I feel like it and what I feel like lol.

it’s interesting, becuse then the output of the work tends to be higher quality.

2 Likes

Exactly! LOL!

1 Like

yup.

1 Like