How to start learning Latin?

So, I rarely talk about my life outside of writing, but uh, my partner, he wants to learn Latin to be able to understand the Latin in a song he likes.

I tried to do Latin in a story once and found it so confusing, I gave up :sweat_smile: So, I can’t help him.

It’s been almost a week, and he still seems serious about this. It’s not a passing interest yet. He can understand English and speak it somewhat. Is that a start? Can anyone help me give advice to help him get started? Where should you start?

YouTube?

3 Likes
2 Likes

Duolingo has Latin!

2 Likes

https://lrc.la.utexas.edu/eieol/latol

Start with vowel phonetics.

3 Likes

You can begin by looking at mobile apps and then you can find a book online or at your local library.

2 Likes

You’re in luck, I studied Latin for five years and actually used to read it (a long time ago lol).

The very very very two basics you need to know and understand are how Latin nouns/adjectives are broken down and how Latin verbs are broken down. For nouns/adjectives, these are known as “declensions” (there are five) and “conjugations” (four plus tenses) for verbs.

Declensions/Nomenclature:

Latin uses declensions to denote what’s happening in a sentence. It’s a series of suffixes that changes based on how the sentence is structured. Things like possessives, which word is the subject of a sentence, which word is the object of a sentence (ie. “The dog chased a squirrel:” dog is the subject, squirrel is the object). There are tables of each declensions split into single and plural suffixes. I learned these the hard way: strict memorization lol. There are five suffixes for singular words and five suffixes for plural words in each declension. And unfortunately, unlike in English, most of them are not a singular noun which adds an “s” on the end lol. It depends on the gender of the word plus the declension the word uses (1-5).