Library Etiquette.

I’ve been working at a library now for about six months and I’ve noticed some things that, quite honestly, drive me crazy. Of course, it’s a customer service and customers can definitely make you second guess your life’s choices and jump off a bridge, but these things are just minor pet peeves. And if you want to vent about your job and pet peeves you don’t like, feel free to use this as your safe haven.

Anyway, to the topic!

Library etiquette is something I think a lot of people need for when they visit the library, and so, here is a list of things to make your life and a library assistant’s life easier.

1. Please know exactly what you’re looking for.

We’ll get people who have an idea of what they’re looking for, but actually don’t know the title, the author, the genre, etc. or they’re so flustered that they don’t even know how to speak. I had to deal with this one guy the other day who said he was looking for a dictionary. I take him to the dictionaries, and then he said that’s not what he’s looking for. He then said he wants an encyclopedia. But he doesn’t tell me what type. Well, our library got rid of all of them… so then he says, “Do you have Doorling?” I don’t even know what that is, can’t find it in our system, but he finally (after ten minutes) says the topic of what he’s looking for: moths and caterpillars. We don’t have Doorling, but we have a few others on those topics, but he says that’s not what he’s looking for and as I tried to ask him exactly what he’s looking for, he storms out angrily.

Look, I get that you might be frustrated, but we can’t help you if you don’t know what you’re looking for. So, if you’re looking for a book or something in particular, please look it up, screenshot it on your phone, and let us look at it. Or write down the exact title and author you’re looking for. We’re just employees. We can’t read your mind.

1. Libraries don’t know anything about packages, your taxes, etc.