resources for outlining a story?

Alright, I am usually a pantser and wrote my first draft on a whim, but I’m ready to start getting serious about the second draft of my book and want to actually organize my ideas for it before writing so I have a clearer idea of what direction I am taking the story. That means making an outline, or storyboard, or whatever you people that are plotsers instead of pantsers call it. I’ve never done this before, so I was wondering what sorts of free resources are out there to help with this.

How do you normally plan out your plot structure for a story? Do you use a website? Do you draw up something on paper? What format do you use? What works best for you? Please show me your ways so I can actually get this second draft done in a less chaotic manner than my first draft.

3 Likes

Oh phew there are usually different ways I outline a book, it all depends on the ‘vibes’ of the book.

My outlining started in Google Docs, where I made a table of chapternumbers X 5 rows. The rows had the chapter name, words, what happens, why that happens, important notes for me for each chapter. It gives me a good outlook for each chapter as I really went in depth with this sort of outline.

At one point I went even crazier for a book and for each chapter in google docs I wrote a scene by scene format in each chapter and the word count it should approximately happen in

However I started to get lazy and only wrote what i wanted in each chapter to happen and then the word count…

Now I use scrivener and just have a folder for each chapter and write a detailed explanation for what i want to happen in each chapter

2 Likes

ah well, i’m a plantser so i’m not the most organized but i do outline. if it’s a story i haven’t written before then i do one arc at a time and just jot down the bare bones plot-relevant points, ex
° arc 1

• kitten is born
  • kitten frolics, unaware of the tragedies of life
  • a coyote attacks the kitten’s family