Some Deets on Dialogue (revisited)

Good dialogue can really make or break a story, but how does a writer get through the ins and outs of good dialogue writing?

Three years ago I posted “Some Deets on Dialogue” here on the forum, but I think that it’s been archived or buried, so I thought I would consolidate the ideas talked about in a new thread.

As before, I am not an expert, but between experience, research, and teaching, I’ve gotten a decent handle on dialogue and attribution and want to pass it on so others don’t have nearly the same steep learning curve I did coming up as an author.

Hopefully writers here can find some useful information on how to approach dialogue in their stories.

Certain situations/regions may have nuances not addressed in this resource

The Basic Mechanics of Dialogue Writing:

Dialogue writing in itself is a tricky proposition with many (sometimes seemingly conflicting) rules.
Below are examples and explanations on why punctuation is used the way it is for each example.

Let’s start with a very basic sentence:

“Jacob!”

Easy enough. A single word and the exclamation inside of quotes, no attribution. Use this device sparingly, and avoid trying to use it for more than two speakers as it can cause confusion. If dialogue is broken up by action or other expositions and the same speaker picks back up, attribution should be included to ensure the reader knows exactly who is speaking.

Let’s say an attribution gets added, what then?

Wait… What is an Attribution?

An attribution is simply some form of “he/she/they said.”

It conveys the emotion behind the words being written so a reader knows how the character is feeling in that moment of the story.
An attribution can stand alone, be combined with exposition, or in some cases completely omitted.

For Example:

“Jacob,” she said.

Has a different emotion than:

“Jacob!” a voice barked.

And is again different from:

“Jacob?” she questioned.

Periods, Question Marks, and Exclamation Points