Where do you get video resources?

Hey!
So I’m just trying out video editing for the first time and I wonder where you can get clips of videos from movies for trailers… And how does licensing for those work?
Also do tell me if you know any good free video editors that don’t put obvious watermarks on the finished product. I don’t mind having a watermark, but the ones like Filmora’s free editor-- which is extremely in your face, are not okay…

1 Like

Bump

Idk about free video resources, but a good free video editor is DaVinci Resolve. It doesn’t put any watermark on the video unless you use one of its premium video effects on it. It has a lot of effects and uses, so be sure to watch some tutorials so you don’t get overwhelmed. But it’s one of the best free video editors on the market.

3 Likes

When you buy video stock, you read the license before you buy (hopefully)! I buy a lot of mine from Artgrid as I have a running subscription - they have plenty of nice clips. Depositphotos and Shutterstock also sell video stock, but is a separate subscription to their image sub.

Video editor wise, I haven’t tried any free ones. Simple video editing can be done with Premiere Pro or any of it’s alternatives. If you are looking to create 3D animation etc, After Effects or any of it’s alternatives.

Free video stock (that is actually good) is like a gem. Envato has a lot of resources but the subscription isn’t free, sadly. :frowning:

Using video stock from actual films etc - really, really bad form. It’s all pre-graded, so you’ll really struggle with making multiple clips look like they ‘go’ together, and it’s also copyright infringement. It also can’t be used to sell your book if you decide to publish it later down the line, so it’s wasted effort.