ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE

MY ZOMBIE STORY.
Hello, I have been struggling with coming up with a good background for my zombie story. I have had some help, but I need to do research and I have no idea where to start. I hope to, once that I have done my research, I can build the rest of the story: setting, characters, etc. But for now, I have ZERO knowledge on zombies and have no idea where to start my research into getting my zombies from out of my head and onto “paper”.

I also have no idea what to call my zombies or how they came to be. I can go with a fungal infection, army super soldiers gone wrong, curses, etc. I really could use your guys’ help!

4 Likes

You could call them wights and say that they originate in people who eat too much high-fructose corn syrup.

2 Likes

Yeah, zombies are kind of wide-open now. Zombies come out of Caribbean culture.

https://www.floridamuseum.ufl.edu/caribarch/education/zombi/

3 Likes

Funny enough, there’s a reggaeton song about a zombie:

This would work really well running away from zombies after they invade a nightclub.

3 Likes

Fungal, parasitic, chemical, biological, mutation in genes, or a mix of two or more… Most start this way, if not all…

I like the idea from the original Resi Evil, a biological creation that gets out and mutates the host and reanimating them…

But in general, creating something new in this type of tale is gonna be quite the challenge…

Biological from another planet, carried to earth in a meteorite would be something else to look into…

SD

1 Like

hm, zombie stories tend to focus more on the survivors than the zombies, but consuming (pun unintended lol) some zombie media might help you decide what route of infection you want to go with!

The Last of Us is both a video game and a tv series which cover fungal zombies