Is this normal for some writers? AM I OKAY IN THAT REGARD?!

To make a long story short: I just got finished writing chapter twelve for Red Reign and that was an emotional chapter for me.

It was so emotional that I was tearing up about to cry and shaky from it.
In all my years of writing, I HAVE NEVER WRITTEN ANYTHING THAT EMOTIONAL BEFORE!!!

I am still shaking and wanting to cry because of it!
Has anybody ever got like that? Is that normal? Am I okay?

5 Likes

I am really still over shaky over it.
Like I really want to cry right now because of it.

What the heck? That has never happened to me before!

1 Like

@Akje
@AMMeyers
@J.L.O

1 Like

ā€œNo tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.ā€

ā€• Robert Frost

Thatā€™s never happened to me that I can recall, but itā€™s great that itā€™s happened to you! Good work! (*ļ¼¾-ā€˜) 乃

4 Likes

It is the weirdest thing.
When I wrote the House of Naivin, I donā€™t EVER remember getting shaky and wanting to cry and the same applies to Into the Chaos.

Actually, Iā€™ve NEVER got that way!
I am scared because in the next chapters are going to be even more emotionally heavy too.

I hope I donā€™t get that way for all the rest of them.
:sweat_smile:

1 Like

Look, Iā€™m about as coldhearted as they come and yeah, I get some hellish lows from writing something that is emotionally draining. They say creating something is a lot like having your own childā€“thatā€™s highs, lows, mourning, celebration, despair, the whole lot.

Thereā€™s a couple reasons it happens:

Emotionally invested leaves you with heartache. Many of us canā€™t write the end of story without feeling loss. I hate ending stories because it feels a bit like Iā€™ve ended this world.