Questions for lgbtqia+ representation in your writing? An incomplete guide...

ghibliaestehtiv

Hellu, beautiful people. My name’s Motte and I’m your resident “should’ve realized she wasn’t straight waaaay sooner yet somehow didn’t” queer. I don’t think I saw a thread like this here so I decided to make my own :kissing_closed_eyes: :sparkles:

please feel super free to add your own experiences, opinions, questions etc… this is an incomplete guide after all lol (but obviously play nice) :sparkles:THANK YOU :sparkles:

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert, as I’ve only come out myself recently (thank you for that gift quarantine, better than the depression) but I’d like to give a small overview of things to avoid or in the very least handle with care. RESEARCH IS KEY!!!

These first two can especially be seen in tv/film but can apply to books as well

• Queercoding → charcters coded as queer → showing attributes (stereo)typically associated with queer people but are not explicetly queer in canon → often villains and/or outsieder

• Queerbaiting → as the name says “baiting queers” as in queer audience, while not alienating “conservative” audience. Refers to subtext that implies a character is queer but there is no follow through in the canon. Most popular examples would be JohnLock (BBC Sherlock) or Destiel (Supernatural). It can go as far as actors pushing the ships agenda or even creators mocking the audience for it
    → Rowan Ellis also talked about queer catching which is the opposite of queer baiting; claiming characters are queer in external media but not showing it in the actual movie/show etc.

• Bury your gays → if you have queer characters they’re killed off rather quickly and not even necessarily to push the plot forward. Again, see Destiel. (Disclaimer: only watched until the first half of season 8 so…)